NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Schemas for Different Sequence Files

I  have a database that is storing my results from Test Stand.  I'm having trouble creating the tables for the 6 different sequel files in the same database.  I tried making a new schema to rename all the tables, but I cant execute a new SQL window to build the tables because all the files I have to open are the text files TestStand supplies which all create the same table names.  Do I have to create all those text files myself to make the tables for a new schema?  As you all can see I am a struggling novice.  Thanks for the help. 
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,865 Views)
I'm having trouble creating the tables for the 6 different sequence files in the same database (sorry for the typo)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,849 Views)

Hey Roons,

TestStand actually makes this really simple for you.  After you have created your new schema within the Database Options dialog, return to the Schemas tab, and click on the Build .sql File.  This will bring up a file save dialog box and will allow you to save the .SQL file that will build the tables necessary to utilize the schema.  You will want to run this .SQL statement on a database that does not have tables currently that are named the same as the tables in your schema, otherwise you will get an error that the table already exists since it builds CREATE TABLE commands.   Give this a shot and let me know if you have any additional questions.  Have a good one.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,836 Views)
I can't seem to find that option.  I am looking everywhere in the database options.  When I click on the Schema Tab, there is not an option to build .sql file.  Here is my screen:

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(3,831 Views)
Hi Roons,

It appears you must be using a TestStand version prior to 3.0.  TestStand 3.0 and above have a utility to build a .SQL file directly from your schema.  With your version, you still have 2 options: