cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing variables between LabVIEW and TestStand

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am just learning how to use TestStand and while there is a wealth of resources available, I am still finding myself at a loss on how to pass variables between TS and LV, leaving me to think that there's a small fundamental thing that I am missing which is likely since I have about a weeks worth of experience with LabVIEW and about a days worth of experience with TestStand.

I took a look at the "Passing Clusters to Code Modules" example in the TestStand examples (I'm using TS 2016 if that matters) since I figured that would be fairly ideal for what I'm hoping to. In this case, I'm hoping to be able to pass a string (a file path) to LabVIEW and have the VI be able to take that string and use it as part of a command for System Exec.VI.  I'd then like to be able to pass back strings to TestStand to show to the user if an error is encountered, but I figured I should get the first part working.

I guess my question is what should I expect to be seeing in the Passing Clusters to Code Modules example? The watch window shows all the local variables set to what ContainerOut has in the Variables pane, but I don't see any sort update on the assoicated LabVIEW front panels (VI1.vi and VI2.vi). Should I be?