NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multithread execution, and thread termination

I am fairly new to teststand and I know this is fairly complex. I'm an intermediate user of CVI, and have programmed in C for a while. So here goes...

I want to create two concurrent threads in teststand. One of these threads will be running a series of tests. The other will be running the same test, checking environmental conditions, in a timed loop. I want to have the thread that is checking the environmental condition terminate the other thread on a fail condition. To make matters more complicated, I want to have the thread not only terminate the "Main" thread, but do it in such a way that I am still able to execute a shutdown sequence for the hardware that is in use. Finally, I need the "monitoring" thread to have the ability to be switched on and off by the main thread, as sometimes it will need the hardware it uses.

I have some experience with threading, and operating systems, but am just unsure how to execute this in teststand and/or CVI.

Thank you in advance for all your help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(3,416 Views)

Hi Crymsenn,

TestStand offers full multithreading capabilities. If you go to www.NI.com >> NI Developer Zone >> Development Library >> Measurement and Automation Software >> TestStand (or click on this link), you will see a large amount of information regarding TestStand. This site provides multiple pieces of general and specific documentation regarding TestStand as well as example code and is a great resource to use.  

In your case, there is a particular section called Multithreading. If you look and browse through the Application Notes and Tutorials section, as well as the Technical Presentations section, you will learn a great deal about multithreading and what options you have in TestStand. Below is an overall view of multithreading in TestStand but for great detail, use that TestStand site.