From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use threaded CVI serial port routines on teststand

I have an application which needs to run on the background during teststand execution and to collect data from UUT by using a serial port (Octal Legacy RS-422 NI card) . I've used asynctimer.fp to  run my statemachine algorithm to analyse data and I also put InstallComCallback to a thread on my DLL module to receive data simultaneously. It runs without any problem on CVI but when I use my DLL on TestStand asynctimer doesn't run at all. It seems like TS stops asynctimer thread during execution. What should I do to fix that problem? Is there any way to tell TS API to enable that timer thread? I'm not experienced on threaded programming. This is my first application using threads.

I've tried multithreading and single apartment thread settings on TestStand but I don't think that's what I wanted, because I need to collect data , analyse it and need to pass to the next step after that.

Thanks in advance,
Hakan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,111 Views)
Hakan -

Are you issuing two DLL calls in TestStand (one for the asynchronous state machine, the other for synchronous communication callbacks)?

I am unsure how you are using the asynctimer.fp for the statemachine.  I would assume you are using NewAsyncTimer( ) to create a new timer ID.  What function are you then passing the timer to?