From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to set UI interface for different User types ?

Greetings !

I am rather new to TestStand and I wonder if it is possible to assign to an User group (like Operators for example) a previously saved UI configuration.

In configure menu->Sequence Editor Options->UI configuration, I have created a custom configuration of the windows and would like to load this configuration everytime an user from the Operator groupe logs in.

Thank you !

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,001 Views)

Are you having your operators run the Sequence Editor?  Why not have them use the User Interface?  That way you can customize to your hearts content.

I know that the layout settings for the Seq Editor are stored in some cfg files.  Not quite sure where exactly.  I'm guessing you could have your front End Callback swap those files out or go through the API somehow to change them out.

Just a thought.

Regards,

jigg
CTA, CLA
testeract.com
~Will work for kudos and/or BBQ~
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,992 Views)

Thank you for you quick answer ! Since I can't use TestStand whenever I want, i can't check the cfg files right now but this was my first idea. Guess I will try to swap the files like you said when I will be able to test it. The idea was to lock the UI so that the operator can only run the sequences (and set the rights to customize to the admin only).

Thank you again, I will update this thread when I would be able to provide a solution.

Regards.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(4,948 Views)