From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hiding and Displaying TS UI Controls from LabView

We have a custom TestStand User Interface, written in LabView, that is a modified 'Simple' User Interface as installed with TestStand.

When our UI is initialising the TestStand UI controls are immediately displayed with nothing displayed inside them, this looks very untidy. Is there a way of hiding and displaying TS UI controls on demand?

Regards

Steve

Message Edited by SercoSteve on 03-09-2006 09:22 AM

There are 10 types of people in the world that understand binary, those that do and those that don't.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,050 Views)
TestStand I am still learning, but LabVIEW I know.  There are several things that you could do.  One thing would be a splash screen.  I don't think that this is what you are after, though.

Each control has a terminal on the block diagram.  If you right click on the terminal, you can create a property node.  There are lots of properties that you can set on a control, including whether it is visible or greyed out.  I think you want to hide the controls and SAVE the VI that way.  Then, when the VI is run, where the control/indicator gets its data, set it to visible with the property node as well.  If this is in a subVI, you might need to create a reference to the control/indicator and pass that into the VI as well. You can then wire it to a property node in the subVI.

There are several examples on using property nodes that ship with LabVIEW that should be able to get you started.

Hope that this helps,
Bob Young

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,022 Views)
Bob