cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can convert some data types from variant, but not others

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there,

I have been using LabVIEW for a couple years, but I am brand new to TestStand. I have just inherited some code, and I would like to "pick off" data while running a test stand sequence and save to a .csv so that I can look at it later, I've made a LabVIEW VI to do this.

The test has a couple different data types, like waveforms and custom clusters, so as the input I have a Variant Control and an Enum Control to select different cases. I have had success converting from a variant to numeric, but I get an error when I try to convert from variant to 1D array of waveforms. 

Is it possible to do what I want? Am I just making a silly error? Do I have to have a separate input for these odd datatypes, instead of the variant and case structure?

I've attached an example created using LV 2012 and TS 2012.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,401 Views)

Hi gregoryj,

I don't see you assigning the output values Array of Waveforms or Numeric to anything. You can try to store these values both inside of separate local variables or somewhere else, and just not use the one you want. The VI you have coded should output a default value to both outputs no matter what.

Mathew H.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,379 Views)

Hi Mathew,

I did not assign the outputs to any TestStand variables in this case. I just ran it to see if I would get any errors. In the case of converting a variant to a numeric there was no error. But, in the case of converting a variant to an array of waveforms, there was an error. Although, perhaps the error occurs when TestStand tries to turn the array of waveforms into a variant to pass it to the LabVIEW VI. Hopefully I clarified the issue I am looking at. Thank you,

Gregory

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(4,377 Views)
Gregory,