cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Access elements of an array passed as Object Reference

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi to all!

I'm quite new to TestStand and so my question could be quite simple but I was not able to find solution looking at previous messages.

I have a sequence which passes one array (of custom data type) to another one to do basic stuff on the array (reverse the order of the elements for example).

I want to pass to the called sequence an Object Reference of the array

The problem is that I'm not able to read the element of array inside the called sequence using the object reference.

I found the way get the number of elements but I not able to access the element 😞

Moreover the GUI of TestStand is able to let me see the array pointed by the object reference which is passed inside the called sequence, therefore it is possible to access... but how ???

I want to do the operations on passed Object Reference inside a TestStand "Statement step" if it is possible.

Thank you so much.

Andrea

In other words:

How to access the field "temperatureTag" of the element number "0" starting from referenceToClone Object Reference variable ? 

Locals.referenceToClone[0].temperatureTag does not work...

testStandQuestion.jpg 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(8,751 Views)

Use (*Locals.referenceToClone)[0].temperatureTag  to get the required property.

You can use the dereference operator as specified in http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/370052K-01/tsfundamentals/infotopics/operators_expression/ to get the property from object reference.

- Shashidhar

Message 2 of 16
(8,728 Views)

Thank you for the reply!

The problem is that I'm implementing my sequence with TestStand 4.2 and the use of "*" does not work! 😞

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/370052H-01/tssuppref/infotopics/operators_expression/

... The new question is:

"How to dereference an Object Reference in TestStand 4.2 ?"

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(8,698 Views)
Solution