Community Browser
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Meet NI Engineer Mike Prosser

‎02-19-2017 08:00 AM
‎02-19-2017 08:00 AM

Mike Prosser.jpg

When do you first recall wanting to become an engineer?

I've wanted to be an engineer as far back as I can remember; even before I knew the right words for it. At the very young age when most kids want to be firemen, astronauts, or cowboys, I wanted to be an inventor. As I got older I got more specific, and wanted to be a “robot maker.” By the time I was a teenager, I was making plans to become a professional Software Engineer.

How long have you been at NI and how did you get here?

I started as an intern in 2005, and took a bit of a circuitous route. I left Georgia to attend college in Oklahoma with the intention of going into the games industry after I graduated. (I found 3D graphics and AI interesting problems to work on.) During college, I had several internships at “boring” companies, working on things like cash register software, and this reinforced the importance of doing interesting work. After a couple of summers like that, I took a part-time job in retail and spent most of my time working on an open source game for my portfolio.

When it was time for my final summer internship I applied to NI at the recommendation of one of my friends. I'd never been to Austin before, but after living and working here for just a few months, I loved the city and the company. It turned out that NI had lots of interesting stuff to work on, like a graphical programming language! I also discovered it had a great working environment, and offered better pay and hours then I would find in the games industry. So I decided to stay with NI full time after I graduated, and I've been here ever since.

What's been your favorite project at NI?