From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is this circuit not rectifying?

I set up this half-wave rectifier to test out multisim. It should be cutting off the signal in one directon. Any idea why it isn't doing that?

MultiSIM half rectifier circuit.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,300 Views)

hello,

look , I am sorry but there is nothing wrong with MS, your cuircut is wrong.

you must connect resistor of some realistic value in serial with diode.

I'd suggest to read some basic book about how electronic works.

good luck

Michael

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,295 Views)

I have a degree in electronics. I know how electronic circuitry works.

The diode should only allow current in one direction. The resistor you usually see in circuit books represents the electronic load that would be receiving the DC voltage.

It does also have the additional functionality of limiting current, and I have just realised that MultiSIM actually has components that fail when certain criteria is met such as overheating.

In this case, it is most likely the breakdown voltage of the diode that is causing the failure. I need a diode that can still block current in one direction at UK mains voltage levels. How do I spec the diode to ensure it will prevent voltage breakdown at 230V R.M.S?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(5,293 Views)

Hello,

Look, if you do know electronics,why you have a problem with just 1 component  circuit

just go ahead and use your knowledge. and skip following.

but  - just in case  - if you decide  that your knowledge is not deep enough - read following -

first  -  I 'd suggest  to you to remember that -