From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with Simulating a Timer Circuit

Hello, I'm very new to Multisim, a week old. I'm trying to recreate this timer circuit shown but it is not giving the expected results, nor is it simulating well. I'm sure this is littered with newbie errors, (my engineering is out of practice as well).

Attached is a picture of what the circuit supposed to be, and what I did with it in Multisim. Any help is greatly appreciated.

The ideal operation is supposed to be that the 4060 is supposed to create the timing pulses for the 4017, which would be counting down. The four way switch would allow to pick a timer setting of 30 seconds, 1min, 2min and 3min. The LED's would light up in sequence as the time ran closer to finishing its count. Upon finishing, the buzzer would ring and the final LED would light up.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,910 Views)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,388 Views)

The issue with the 4060* model in the attached link was fixed for V10.1.  It seems that you have the updated model though, so I don't think that's the issue...

Message Edited by NatashaB on 01-13-2010 04:18 PM

Natasha Baker
R&D Engineer
National Instruments

Join the NI Circuit Design Community
Follow Multisim on Twitter!
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,356 Views)

Hello NatashaB. I haven't got 10.1, only 10.0.1. Does that mean that we are using different models when viewing (simulating) the design - or is the new 4060 model included in the design from DavidFFA?

w.k.r.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(5,338 Views)

Eric,

The model would be saved at the circuit level, so you should be seeing the updated model even though you are opening it in 10.0.1.

Natasha Baker