Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

signal distortion in Voltage Measurement

Hello,

I am using PCI-MIO-16E4 for voltage measurement from a Single phase voltage supply panel. I use CB-68LP as connector cable. When I see the output signal using Scope it is giving exact value and pure sinusoidal, but when it comes to LabView 7.1, the magnitude is correct and the sinusoidal is distorted. The siganal is not continuous and looks like triggered pulse in the middle for every cycle. So, the signal breaks goes up like a sqaure pulse and comes down, sinusoidal continues. I donno if there is any problem with the triggering options which i didnot selected. I am very new to labView. The example file I am using (obtained from example finder/DAQMx/Voltage) is attached below.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,008 Views)
PLease can someone suggest me a solution for this. I am attaching the sample of a distorted signal here and I need a solution to get rid of this.

Thanks
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,995 Views)
Hello V.

What you see in LabVIEW is exactely what is being read. So your signal might be getting distorted at the connector block. The first thing to do is make sure that you wired the signal correctly. The example you are using is measuring in differential, so you need to connect one lead of you signal to channel aix and the other to channel aix+8.
After making sure that the connection is correct, check the signal in MAX: launch Measurement and Automation Explorer, under devices and interfaces, select your device under DAQmx and go to the test panels. Check the signal you wired your signal to on the test panels to make sure that you receive your signal properly. If the signal is still distorted, check with a scope the signal right where it is being input to the DAQ to make sure that distorsion does not occur when you connect your signal to the DAQ.
Let me know what you find out...

0 Kudos