Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fiber optic sensor su19 110 115a 126a vs ni usb 6008

Solved!
Go to solution
Hi expert.. I am looking for idea or help on my project. I try to get measurement output from mention sensor via ni usb 6008. Actually i am new with ni usb device n still study n searching on internet n ni forums. I found an idea to connect the sensor through aoi but i fail to get any measurement. Is the sensor may connect directly to usb device or need some custom wire diagram between them. Thanks in advance
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,555 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author yanz

First, it is helpful if you name the manufacturer of the sensor. A part number alone does not mean anything to most of us.  Are you using the Pepperl+Fuchs fiber optic sensor? Even better is to post the datasheet/manual of the sensor or links to them.

The datasheet I found for the Pepperl+Fuchs sensor is not very well written, in my opinion. It appears that the outputs are pulses with amplitudes dependent on the power supply voltage and frequency or timing set by operating mode.  

If that is the device you are using, the only way you have any chance of decoding the outputs with the USB-6008 is to measure them with an analog input and then process the data in software. Depending on the power supply voltage, you will probably need a voltage divider to reduce the sensor output voltage to a level compatible with the DAQ device.  You also will not be able to use the high speed mode of the sensor because the pulse rate exceeds the Nyquist limit. In standard mode you mighte be OK but you can only use one channel of the USB-6008 to stay within the Nyquist limit.

Lynn

Message 2 of 9
(4,550 Views)