From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bipolar 2 phase stepper control in labview

I have an available PCI 6024E and USB 6009 daq card. I have already programmed bipolar control for a four wire stepper using VHDL and on microprocessors. I want to trigger the four stepper wires in the following fashion , AB, BAnot, AnotBnot, BnotA and cycle back. Each transition from one to another is one step on the motor. I have the following motor:

I am new to Labview and the aspect of graphical programming but i know what i want bascially user puts in number of step the motor should move and then at a set frequency using the ms i can control that. Then each time around the counter is incremented and when the counter reaches the number as desired the motor steps seize to step forward. How would i the switching from AB to BAnot and so on in Labview?

Message Edited by niyant on 08-25-2005 07:11 PM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,031 Views)

You can use the counters on the 6024 to output a pulse train with variable frequency and number of pulses. To make things easier since you have to cycle 4 inputs sequentially and repeatedly- use a 4 bit counter chip with some karnaugh logic that takes a freqency input and produces the 4 sequential bit pattern states. You can probably seach the web for such a circuit.

Or you could purchase a stepper motor driver unit off the shelf that take a direction input and step input. Again, use the counter output on the 6024 to provide the pulse train to step the motor.