Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use LabVIEW to Control Stepper Motor Using 3 Connections from USB DAQ 6009 with Generic Motor Controller/Driver

Hello,

I am an ME graduate student doing wind tunnel testing. I need to control motorized stage holding a probe in our wind-tunnel for the last step of my project.

I am trying to use the 6009 USB DAQ to control a stepper motor and simultaneously (keep it simple for now) acquire differential voltage data from 3 different sources. I have done some of the basic LabVIEW tutorials and the analog side is working properly from simple testing in MAX.

I am sort of lost on where to begin. I have done a lot of searching around on the discussion boards but everything seems overly complicated for my purposes.

My stepper motor drives a single Velmex stage (http://www.velmex.com/motor_15.html). It was hooked up to a controller that uses an AC adapter. This particular controller is too old to be found online. A switch box with pushable buttons to control STEP and DIR was connected to the controller with 3 wires. Pretty sure there was a 3rd physical button but I cannot remember right now.

I disconnected the 3 wires between the switchbox and the controller, and now I plan to connect the motor controller's 3 wires into the digital outputs of the 6009. I am pretty lost on what type of signal(s) (i.e. frequency and amplitude) to output from the DAQ into the 3 inputs on the controller. I do not have any documentation on this controller.

It would be nice to push a button on the Front Panel window, carefully raise the stage up one-tenth of a millimeter, click a button to record data for 20 seconds on all analog channels, then repeat for 10-20 increments.

Thank you so much for anything. I assume this would not be possible in MAX.

Will

Message 1 of 4
(4,903 Views)

Hi,

It's possible that the inpunt signal to the controller is a square wave with a maximum voltage equal to the