From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB-6212: timing issue with retriggerable analog input

Hello Everyone!
I am new to low level programming labview and I’m having some issues with my NI-USB-6212 and labview. I have two boards NI-USB-6212 and I’m using them to read two analog channels. My effective sample rate is 100 Hz (each point is the average of 4000 points (samples per channel) sampled at 400 kHz (sampling rate)). To ensure that my effective sample rate is 100Hz I’m using a timed loop (1kHz Clock, 10 Period).

My problem is that I want to lower my averaging points (samples per channel), because sometimes my loop is finishing late, so by reducing my number of average points I will give enough time for the readings inside my loop to finish before 10ms. The problem is that I can’t reduce my averaging, because I get the error -200279 “The application is not able to keep up with the hardware acquisition”. I think the problem is that those boards don’t have retriggerable analog acquisition, therefore I’m using the available counters as a workaround, and because of that I’m using my Sample Mode as Continuous Samples.

Is there a way to lower my averaging,for example to 3000, without changing my sampling rate?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,307 Views)

No need for a timed loop.  Just use Continuous Acquisition and always read your 4000 samples.  This will effectively set your loop rate to 1ms just from waiting at the DAQmx Read.

And why are you using 2 boards for 2 channels?  Why not have both channels on the same DAQ and then you just need one task.

I will have to look at your code later to see if we can help speed up your loop (currently on mobile).

GCentral