Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Troubleshooting PCI-6070E, plus question about DAQ test panels

Greetings,

My question is a bit verbose, but since I am new to NI, I want to be complete.

For my application, I am using a 128-channel custom-built amplifier, for which each group of 8 channels is connected to a SCXI-1140 amplifier (via SCXI-1304 terminal block). The resultant 16 SCXI amplifiers are mounted in two SCXI-1001 chassis (8 amps each), each of which is connected to a PCI-6070E DAQ card. The signals from the 1140s are multiplexed to the DAQ.

We have been having some trouble with the system, complicated by the fact that the custom amplifier and the accompanying LabView software for data acquistion/display was not constructed/written by our group, but by someone else. Among other things, according to the custom software, all the channels connected to chassis 2 seem to originate from the same input, i.e., (1) the signal shape from these channels resemble one another, with the same noise characteristics, and (2) removing one particular channel from the custom amplifier causes *all* the channels from the chassis go out.

Using the test panels in MAX indicate that the SCXI devices are not the problem. I am wondering if the DAQ is responsible, but I'm not sure how to interpret the signal that I'm seeing based on a test input to the custom amplifier.

At this point, I have two questions (I will probably have more later):