Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strain measurement with PCI6251 and SCc-SG-01

I am new to Labview and trying to measure strain from multiple strain gages. I have a NI PCI6251 DAQ with SC-2345 carrier equipped with multiple quarter bridge strain gage modules SCC-SG-01.

Whenever I try to configure and create a strain measurement task in Lab View, I do not see any device calibration options in the setup window. There are Settings and Calibration tab but not the Device Tab. What could be the possible error in my setup?

Thank you,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,451 Views)

Hi subodhscs,

The Device tab in the task configuration window doesn't exist for all devices, only devices which have specific options. For example, dedicated bridge measurement modules let you launch the bridge calibration wizard from the device tab. The PCI 6251 does not appear to have any functionality that would be in the device tab. Furthermore, calibration of the SCC modules has to be done manually, as outlined in the user manual (http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/371073b.pdf, page 18). Dedicated bridge measurement modules have the circuitry to make the calibration automatically, but since you're using the SCC add-on for a multifunction PCI card, the calibration has to be done manually instead. 

So the short answer is, you're doing nothing wrong. The 6251 isn't expected to have a Device tab.

Cason

Applications Engineer, NI

Cassandra Longley
Senior Technical Support Engineer - FlexRIO, High Speed Serial and VRTS
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,430 Views)

Thank you @Cason_Point for the response.