From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simultaneous AO and AI with NI USB 6001/MATLAB DAQ toolbox

Solved!
Go to solution

I am very new to data acquisition and bought an NI USB 6001 to start learning. Since I can get MATLAB free via my university, I'm using the Matlab data acquisition toolbox as the DAQ software.

My problem is that I get the following error message when I try to generate an AO signal (voltage for an LED) and measure an AI signal (voltage from a 9V battery) simultaneously.

Warning: This change caused queued output data to be flushed.  Use queueOutputData to queue data before starting the object.
Hardware does not support the specified connection. Check the device's user manual for valid device routes and pin-outs.

However measuring the AI or generating the AO each by themselves works perfectly fine.

My Matlab script looks like this:

daq.getDevices;

s=daq.createSession('ni');

s.Rate = 1000;

s.DurationInSeconds = 10; 

addAnalogInputChannel(s,'Dev1','ai0','Voltage');

addAnalogOutputChannel(s,'Dev1','ao0','Voltage');

aoVoltage=1.8+0.1*sin(linspace(0,2*pi,10000))';

queueOutputData(s,aoVoltage);

s

startBackground(s);

Note that adding the AI and AO channels to the session also works, however I get mentioned error when the session starts. Is this a limitation of my DAQ hardware (I don't see something like that mentioned in the manual) or do I have to alter the script?

The connected pins for the LED are AO0(+) and AO GND(-).

The connected pins for the battery are AI0(+) and AI4(-). (The problem is still there if I use ground reference for the AI)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(8,729 Views)
For Matlab questions, you should post to the Mathworks forum.