Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading Square Waves using PCI-MIO-16E-4

I am a mechanical engineer student from Stony Brook University. I am currently working on a project which uses a SwissFlow 800 flowmeter which has the following specs:

flow range* : 0,3 – 20 liter/min
interchangeability** : ± 2.25 %
accuracy : ± 1.00 %
reproducibility : ± 0.30 %
output : 100 to 2000 Hz;
square wave on – off
sensitivity K : aprox. 6000 pulses

excitation : 5 to 24 VDC, 12 to 24 mA
power consumption : 12 – 36 mA
process connections : 3/8” hose barb; 3/8”BSP Male
electrical termination’s : 3-wire flat cable sealed in housing, 15 cm

I need the connect this sensor to the PCI-MIO-16e-4 card and be able to count the pulses from the flowmeter using labview. So far I have connected to the analog input and only read a constant 5v reading from the DAQ. IS there anyone who can help me with this dilemma ? thank you very much.
Kevin Cheung
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,542 Views)
usually you buy a signal conditioner to convert the pulses to a 0_to_5 V, 0_to_10V, or 4_to_20 mA.
Then you can analog-read the signal properly.

or you can wire the signal (assuming it is TTL compatible) to a counter channel and read the pulse rate (frequency corresponding to some flow rate). several examples are shipped with labView that reads frequency.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(2,521 Views)
The device you are using is supported under DAQmx. If you are using a API that supports DAQmx such as LabVIEW 7.x, then I suggest using a program that is written using the NI-DAQmx driver.