cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXIe-4463 Programming Example

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am given a task to generate sine wave using PXIe-4463, in LabView, but I found an example in LabView for the NI-DAQmx that will program the device to output sine wave (Hardware Input and Output > DAQmx > Analog Output > Voltage - Continuous Output.vi).  Anyhow, from the "Requirements" list, PXIe-4463 is not listed.

There is another example called 'Voltage - On Demaind Output.vi' which supports PXIe-4463, but it seems like is only program the device to output constant voltage.

I am a newbie to the NI-DAQmx instruments, so perhaps the answer is right in front of me but I am still confused on how I can program the card to do what I need it to do.  Can 'PXIe-4463' output sine wave?   Although this instrument is not listed, but would it be possible that 'Voltage - Continuous Output.vi' example can still be used?

Last, I saw there is a special setup to keep the output voltage after DAQmx closed.  But, I was not clear if that also applies to sine wave or only constant voltage can be kept?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

Peggy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,361 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author PeggyC

First off, Welcome to DAQmx!

The PXIe-4463 can produce a Sine wave.  To verify this without writing any code, you can use TestPanels in NI MAX if you’d like.

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/4638/en/

Also, the ‘Voltage – Continuous Output.vi’ does work with the PXIe-4463.  It is likely not listed because there are specific examples for Sound and Vibration modules (Hardware Input and Output > DAQmx > Sound and Vibration).  Even though it was not specifically designed for that module, it still uses the same driver, which usually makes it compatible.  If you open an example and can select the Physical Channel using ‘Browse’, it will generally work, even if you have to change some of the settings to be compatible with the device.