Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring resistance with 6008

Hi,

I am new to the DAQ field. I just want to know how I can measure a resistor with 6008. I am using VI Logger, DAQ 8.0 software. I have simply taken a 2K resistor and placed one end on AI2+ and AI2-. In VI Logger options, I am using "External" as Iex Source and Iex current of 1mA, which I think means that 6008 provides the exitation current. When I press test (run) button I see graph ranging from 1 to 6 ohms. Can you please tell me how I can measure resistance preferrable with no internal current source (I mean 6008 should take care of providing current source). If that is not possible how can I setup a constant current source. I will be taking resistance measurements on couple of channels of couple of different resistors later. Is there a better NI DAQ product that allows measuring of multiple resistances (resistances maybe less than 100 Ohms) without any extra hardware.

Please help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,012 Views)
I don't think the USB 6008 will provide an internal current source so you will need an external source. I dont know of other NI hardware that will do this but I am sure there is something.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,997 Views)
Hi,

As I said previously I am just trying to measure a resistor on one of the analog channels. How do I setup a constant current source for it. I tried using a 9V battery with few Kohms resistors in series to give the load resistor a constant current of 1 mA. 6008 still doesn't see a resistance. Please let me know if you know any websites that describe this procedure.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(4,993 Views)

Here is the datasheet and app notes for building a constant current source.

http://cache.national.com/ds/LM/LM134.pdf