Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux NIDAQmx install problem

Hello,

I'm a beginner in linux and having trouble installing the NIDAQmx library for linux on a raspberry pi. I downloaded the .iso and mounted it successfully however when running the install It reported this: 

Checking required install tools...
Checking installer tool versions...
dpkg found
rpm Not found in current path
tar 1.26
Checking dependencies...
glibc 2.13
Unpacking install files to /tmp/nidaqmx-8.0.2f0.install...

*********************************** ERROR ************************************
* ERROR: 4.1 kernels are not supported! *
* Running a 2.6.x kernel is required to continue this installation. *

I've seen some other people having similar errors when downloading NI-VISA, but not for NIDAQmx. How can I fix this? Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,560 Views)

@epivo wrote:

Hello,

I'm a beginner in linux and having trouble installing the NIDAQmx library for linux on a raspberry pi. I downloaded the .iso and mounted it successfully however when running the install It reported this: 

Checking required install tools...
Checking installer tool versions...
dpkg found
rpm Not found in current path
tar 1.26
Checking dependencies...
glibc 2.13
Unpacking install files to /tmp/nidaqmx-8.0.2f0.install...

I've seen some other people having similar errors when downloading NI-VISA, but not for NIDAQmx. How can I fix this? Thank you!

Where did you get the idea that installing NI-DAQmx on Linux running on the Raspberry Pi was doable?

Message 2 of 4
(4,553 Views)

@epivo wrote:

Yeah, the problem is that NI treats the information how to talk to the device as secret as nuclear launch keys ...

Basicly, they intellectually live in the old time of the catholic inquisition, where only priests were allowed to learn and speak the latin language and the Bible was just available in latin. So, everybody else had to belive what the priests say.