Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to toggle the amount of signals obtained from the DAQ assistant?

Hi, I am relatively new to LabView and I am wondering if I can get some helpful tips to write my code.

I have a NI 9191 wifi chasis with a 16-channel thermocouple input module (NI 9213). I would like to show the last minute of temperature readings from the channels and save all data in a CVS file while the program is running. The first hurdle I am facing is that I would like to toggle between the channels to be read by the program with a booleans for each channel in the front pannel. I tried to make 16 different DAQ assistants (one for each channel), merge the signals and show them in a waveform chart but I receive an error saying that I cannot utilize the same device with different DAQ assistants. If I set to read every channel and do not have a thermocouple attached to all the channels it will give me a constant high number. How could I add more or less signals to the graph on command?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,769 Views)

You need to get away from the DAQ Assistant and instead use the actual DAQmx API.  Though, you could configure one of your DAQ Assistants and then right-click on it and select to show the block diagram.  That will convert it from an Express VI and change it into a normal VI.  From there, you should be able to figure some things out.  But a better route would be to go into the LabVIEW examples (Help->Find Examples) and do a search for thermal couple DAQ.  There should be some really good setups in there.  Once you get the hang of how the API works, then we can get into more specifics of what you are trying to do.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3