Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to synchronize counter speed measurement with analog input

Hi all,

I'm new to LabVIEW and I always have issues in getting the synchronization right.

The tasks for my VI: Generate pulse train, using counter to measured the freq of generated pulse train and acquire an analog signals work fine without the synchronisation.

When it comes to synchronizing the counter measurement and analog acquisition, i had errors coming and I am aware that, as a rule of thumb, master timebase, start triggered and sample clocks must be shared for synchronized measurement.

Appreciate if there were any kind ones would like help to share your opinions towards synchronisation programming practice.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,082 Views)

Your rules for sync'ing are reasonable, but for many practical cases they're actually overkill.  I do quite a bit of task syncing and I often don't share start triggers or timebases explicitly.  It's often sufficient to conceive of one task as the master task, configure the other tasks to use the master's sample clock, and be sure to start the master task last (so everyone else is already armed and ready to go when the sample clock pulses start).

Second, for tasks coming off the same board, they're all gonna derive their timebase from the same internal source.  Further, one consequence of that is that there's no particular value in measuring the frequency of the pulse train you're generating.  There *is* value in querying the pulse generation task for the *actual* frequency it's able to generate.

I made some simple mods to your program to help illustrate, but wasn't able to test it yet.

-Kevin P