Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting Started on Connecting a Load Cell to a 9148 Expansion Chassis

Hello,

I'm a Civil Engineer that's begun my thesis on a large scale (1m) direct shear apparatus. I've been provided with a number of DAQ hardware modules and the 9148 Expansion Chassis, but was looking for some insight on how to hook up and test one of the load cells I will be using before I transport the hardware to the site (which is rather remote). Most electronics are outside the scope of my undergrad education, but I have made a bit of progress on my own.

The 9148 has been sucessfully connected to my machine and the MAX software, and software has been installed to the chassis.

I have 5 modules seated inside the 9148, (2) 9223 (2) 9237 and (1) 9213.

Now, I'm concerned with hooking up the load cell seen here and testing the data acquisition. Overall, I will have 4 load cells hooked up to the chassis.  I'm fairly certain that I need to hook up the cell to the 9223 module, but am not sure which of the wires seen in the load cell image I should use.

Thank you for reading, and for the possible help with my dilemma.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,097 Views)

You should hook them to 9237. Page 10 of http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/374186e.pdf shows how could you do it.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,090 Views)

Thanks for the reply! But I'm afraid it left me even more confused. I have basically zero EE knowledge, so I have no idea how I'd begin to hook those 5 wires up to a 37 pin DSUB connector.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,071 Views)

Hello tsrobinson,

Are you using the NI-9237 with the RJ50 connectors? If so you can follow this article for wiring your sensor:

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/892C84122A6501AE86257547007E5C53

Regards,

-Travis E

National Instruments
Product Marketer
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(4,043 Views)