Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fluctuations in the Analog Output of NI USB 6211

Dear Friends,

My problem is not fatal but it sure is giving me lots of headaches and it is becoming a bit difficult to detect the source.

I am basically studying the frequency response of materials when excited by a large sinusoidal current and based on this frequency response deducting the material properties. 

For this system I am using the analog output of the USB 6211 to generate the current (I am acheiving large currents via power amplification) and using the analog inputs to detect the input voltage signals. For this system to work well I need the output to be stable.However for some strange reasons there is a sudden jump in voltage readings (few mV) but this happens only at certain random frequencies.

What could be the reason for this error? Could it be the way I am generating the output? I am using in-built LabVIEW function to generate continuous output samples. Or is it a limitation of the DC power supply used to amplify the current?

I hope I was clear in my explanation and cross my fingers hoping somebody else has faced a similar problem 🙂

Regards

Sid

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,435 Views)

Heey,

i have a few questions concerning the behaviour you are describing.

1) Does it always happen at the same frequencies? or at different frequencies?

2) Can you reproduce the behaviour or is it completly random?

3) Which LabVIEW functions are you using? Do you use the DAQmx continuous voltag output example? or some modfied code?

4) What is your measurement setup relating this article?

Field Wiring and Noise Considerations for Analog Signals - National Instruments
http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3344/en/

The measurement for the other frequences etc is fine without strange behaviour?

Greetings!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,413 Views)

Hi Pfehlner,

Thanks for the reply.

Here are the answers to your question: