Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Encoder selection to use with NI PCI 6221 for an Inverted Pendulum Project

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm a mechanical engineering student is his final years, for my final project I'm doing an inverted pendulum system, the university already provided me that data acquisition card which is a NI PCI 6221, and I have to get the other components (dc motor, encoders, cables, servoamplifiers, etc).

My concern is about selecting the right encoder so I don't have any problems... I've been told that the best way to measure the cart position is using an absolute encoder attached to the motor shaft in some way and incremental encoders for measuring angles of pendulum, but I don't know if the 6221 can handle that type of data of an absolute encoder, and if it does, what are the main parameters for its selection? like format, how many bits.

In the case that it doesn't I'd have to go with the incremental encoders option for both measuring the cart position and pendulum angle, I know that the 6221 can handle quadrature encoders inputs, there´re plenty of examples about it, but since the models of incremental encoders are pretty wide there´re some features that worry me: frequency response vs. sample rate, and the output type.

I found a catalog that has two types of digital incremental encoders says their models have 300 KHz of freq response, being the only differences the output and power supply, anyway the 6221 can handle that freq resp? because the card's sample rate is 250 KS/s, Would it be any conflict?

They offer two output types: TTL/74LS04 and Line driver, and even if I go further with the hohner encoders they have the following outputs/freq resp: RS422 (TTL compatible)/300 KHz, Push-Pull Differential/200 KHz, NPN Open Collector/100 KHz and Push-Pull without complementaries/200 KHz.

Any help would be well received 🙂