Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calculating clock drift for the NI 9234 module

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello! I'm fairly new to using NI equipment (and hardware DAQ in general), so this is probably going to be a really basic question.

We're planning to use two cDAQ 9181 chassis with two NI 9234 modules to sample data on 8 physical channels simultaneously at a rate of 25600Hz. Since we're using the 9181 chassis we cannot do hardware synchronization as mentioned in this topic:

https://forums.ni.com/t5/Multifunction-DAQ/Trigger-aquisition-across-multiple-compactDAQ-chassis/td-...

"The cDAQ-9181 will be out of the question because, as you stated, it does not provide externally accessible PFI lines and you can't use a digital module for sync in a single module carrier, because that would occupy the only available slot."

We need the synchronization between the channels to be accurate to ±100ms. According to the specifications at http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/374238c.pdf, the Internal master timebase (fM) has a frequency of 13.1072 MHz, and an Accuracy of ±50 ppm. I'm trying to calculate the maximum amount of clock drift over 1 hour. Does the chosen sampling rate effect the result?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,662 Views)

Well one hour is 3600s, +-50ppm clock uncertainty

worst case 100ppm difference in the clocks  : 3600*100e-6=360ms drift

Say 50ppm is twice the standard deviation (about 95%) and both units are randomly drifting: 3600*sqrt(25^2+25^2)*10-6~ 127ms drift ... almost...

Or share one signal channel and use it to compensate the drift....

Never tried it, but in theory you can even run one IEPE sensor on two current sourcing IEPE inputs. (Well, the sensor usually can handle 2mA to >8mA current...)  

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1

“ground” is a convenient fantasy

'˙˙˙˙uıɐƃɐ lɐıp puɐ °06 ǝuoɥd ɹnoʎ uɹnʇ ǝsɐǝld 'ʎɹɐuıƃɐɯı sı pǝlɐıp ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ɹǝqɯnu ǝɥʇ'

Message 2 of 7
(4,653 Views)