Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analog writing 200524

Hi,

I am trying to change my code from Traditional NI DAQ to DAQmx and I am fairly new to DAQmx. In my software I have to generate analog output waveforms in two channels X and Y. I was able to successfully transfer it until that point. Later when I close the program I need to give zero volts to both these channels, previously I used AO_VWrite to do that. However whein I use DAQmxWriteAnalogScalarF64 I get the error  - 200524 saying that the number of channels and the data points are not equal. Appreciate any help even in C. I am posting a sample code with the relevant lines.

Dim data(500) As Double
Dim dataZero(2) As Double

For i = 0 To 500
        data(i) = amplitude * Sin(i*const) ' create data for waveforms
Next i  

For i = 0 To 2
       dataZero(0) = 0# ' create two zero values
Next i

DAQmxErrChk DAQmxCreateAOVoltageChan(taskHandle, "Dev1/ao0:1", "aoChannel", -10#, 10#, DAQmx_Val_VoltageUnits2_Volts, "") 'Create two channels ao0:1

DAQmxErrChk DAQmxWriteAnalogF64(taskHandle, 250, True, 10#, DAQmx_Val_GroupByScanNumber, data(0), sampsPerChanWritten, ByVal 0&)' until this point no problem
DAQmxErrChk DAQmxWriteAnalogScalarF64(taskHandle, True, 10#, dataZero(0), ByVal 0&) '  Error 200524

With two channels if I pass two data points I dont understand why I get the error. Appreciate any help.

Thank you
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,293 Views)
Hi GMag,

The DAQmxWriteAnalogScalerF64 writes a single floating point sample to a task that contains one channel. This is why you are getting the error because your task contains two channels. In your case, I would append a value of zero to the end of your data() array so that you get the same functionality.
PBear
NI RF
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(3,272 Views)
Hi patrick,