From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stepper motor vi

Hi,

I am relatively new to the labview codes for stepper motor control.

Let me start by writing what I am trying to achieve. I am trying to control a valve with a stepper motor. I have a bipolar stepper motor from Oriental motor co. mounted on the valve. I dont have the driver/ controller for the motor. I am thinking of buying a third party low cost controller that will drive the motor and use the labview to talk to the controller.
I am using labview 6.0 and I guess but I am not sure if one can write a simple stepper vi. that will allow one to get around. I already have 6024E data aquisition card running on the computer.

Can anyone suggest how should I go with in achieving this?

Thanks
SAL  
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,888 Views)
Hi Sal -

Most motion applications involve a controller, a drive, and a motor.  The controller runs a deterministic feedback-control loop and sends updated commands to the drive.  A separate drive unit is necessary because the PCI/PXI bus is incapable of sourcing the current required by the motor.  The drive also takes commands from the controller to handle error situations and shut down the motor appropriately.

NI offers a line of motion controllers (PCI/PXI-733x, 734x. 7350) and motor drives (MID-760x, 765x) that fit most stepper and servo systems.  The controllers have a driver call NI-Motion and an associated API.  This API lets you program your controller in LabVIEW, LabWindows/CVI, MSVB, etc.  If you choose to use a third-party controller, it will have its own API (VIs and function calls) provided by the vendor.