Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

motion control using LabView

Hi, I am new to LabView and I need to control a linear positioning system using Labview. I have 2 stepper motors with 1.9 amps from Superior Elevtric Inc, 2 MD125 microstepdrives from Oregon Microsystems Inc and a USB DIO96H/50 USB computer interface from Measurement Computing. I would like to know how to start with the coding for the control of the system using Labview. It would also be helpful if I can get some examples and reference realted to this.

Thanks,

Bharath

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(5,395 Views)

Hi Bharath,

Could you provide additional information on your application?  What are you trying to do with your stepper motors?  Following is some very general information on stepper motors and LabVIEW:

The following link describes different types of motors, including stepper motors, and has several links to related information

Motor Fundamentals:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3656/en/

The following link has general information on motion control:

Fundamentals of Motion Control

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3367/en/

The following link describes a specific setup for a stepper motor control in LabVIEW:

Drive Stepper Using Digital output with Pulse sequence

http://forums.ni.com/t5/Digital-I-O/Drive-Stepper-Using-Digital-output-with-Pulse-sequence/td-p/6837...

These should provide enough general information to get started. 

Thanks

Regards,
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(5,345 Views)

Hi Andrew,

With the stepper motor I and labview code, I need to control the linear XY positioning system. I am using Measurement Computing USB - DIO96H/50 for data acquasition. 

Thanks,

Bharath J S 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(5,330 Views)

Could you provide some more detailed information about the linear positioning system you are using?

Regards,
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 18
(5,312 Views)