From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SMC100 Controller - Current Position Fault

Hi,

I'm relatively new to LabVIEW and I'm using pre-existing code linked to a SMC100 controller to move an actuator and monitor the current position. The VI is using a Newport provided VI to determine the current position and it works well for the majority of the time but every now and then there is a glitch during the acquisition that results in a reading of 0 mm before the next reading returns to the actual position. Has anyone had this problem before and any suggestions on what is causing it or how to fix it?

Many thanks.

JR

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,161 Views)

I have not used these specific serial motor controllers, but the issue is likey a communication issue with the VISA calls in the driver VIs. How often is the position updated from the device, and how is the device connected to your PC?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(6,136 Views)

Hi Karl,

The position updates every 0.16 seconds and it's connected via a RS-232 cable. If a mis-read occurs (where it suddenly records a zero displacement), there is a delay of approximately 0.41-0.42 seconds before the next update occurs at presumably the correct position again. Also, the time difference between subsequent updates is reduced to approximately 0.13 seconds for the next 10-20 readings before returning to 0.16 seconds thereafter.

JR

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(6,118 Views)

Are the position reads being commanded by the VI at the regular intervals (and therefore slowing down), or does the device send them out regardless of command?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(6,091 Views)