Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running 2 stepper motors with LabVIEW using RMV ST400-NT controller and driver

Hello, I am new to programming as well as motors in general so please bare with me in my attempt to explain myself. I have a project involving laser therapy and I am attempting to control two stepper motors from Falhauber, Type AM2224-R3-AV-4.8. I will be using a RMV ST400-NT controller and driver. Original plan was to use 3 stepper motors for control in 3 axis but realized 2 axis is complicated enough. My power source is an Agilent E3630A. I am new to this whole thing and from what I have read form examples and other posts is that NI drivers seem to work best for these applications. I've written simple programs from examples, reading and watching videos. I want to know whether it's possible for these to work together using LabVIEW and also a nudge to help me get started would be much appreciated. Can someone please help guide me in the right direction, I feel a bit lost when it comes to all this. Thank you for your time and consideration.  Also, I will be using Windows 8 laptop with Labview 8.5. I have attached pics of components I will be using.

Justo T.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,015 Views)

Hi jtarula,

I want to preface this response by saying that I am mre familiar with NI controller and driver rather than the one that you have. I am assuming that you are using the dll provided by the manufacturer here:
http://www.rmv.com/download.htm

With these, you should be able to interface with LabVIEW using the call library function node. What the controller is capable I am uncertain of. I am certain that you should be able to since another user has commented on the use in LabVIEW before in another forum post.

I also want to let you know that LabVIEW 8.5 is not supported on Windows 8, which means that you may run into some compatibility issues. Here is the compatibility chart.