From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

P70530-SDN Stepper Drive stepper motor control and labview

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

First time posting on the fourms. I am quite new to LabVIEW and working with stepper motors and I was wondering if I can get some suggestions from you guys. I have a P70530-SDN Stepper Drive and I would like to use that along with a custom LabVIEW program to control a single linear stage. The stepper motor I am using is a CTM22NLF31NAA00, CTM SERIES AMP Stepper with a 48V power supply. All I want to do for now is to move a carriage on the stage back and forth using the keyboard on a computer. 

I have been reading up on several documents about getting started with the P70530 Drives and the docs all seem to mention using a UMI and motion controllers as shown below: (from http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/372324d.pdf)

70530 UMI.png

I have heard somewhere that I would not need any further hardware if I utilize the P70530 driver, however I cannot confirm that. Would I also need to purchase additonal hardware to properly use my stepper motor? 

Also, from some of my early research into how to control a stepper motor using labview, I have seen some users interface with the motor using a VISA configuration, 73xx VIs or DAQmx. I am quite new to all of this and from what I can understand, I could use the NI-DAQmx if I have the the controller connected to a data acquisition board?  Also considering I do not have a 73xx series controller, what would be a recommended method of using LabVIEW to interface with my motor?