Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is USB-6009 capable to work with Softmotion module

Hi everyone:

I have an USB-6009 DAQ Device. I am using it for reading 5 analogue input voltages to control the movement of a 3D simulated image on LabVIEW.

I have done a little bit research on 3D simulation on LabVIEW. I found that Softmotion module is one of the options for me to create a 3D simulation imgae. However, I am new to Softmotion module, I am wondering if USB-6009 is capable of working with Softmotion module because I have found a tutorial on NI website of using Softmotion with CRio but not with USB DAQ device.

Are there any other tutorials can teach me how to get the USB-6009 to work with Softmotion module?

Thank you very much

Tommy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,094 Views)

Hi Tommy,

I'm Oli, an Applications Engineer at NIUK.  Thanks for posting your question.

Unfortunately, the Softmotion module only works with a set selection of hardware, which includes Compact FieldPoint, CompactRIO, M Series DAQ devices and R Series DAQ devices.  The NI Softmotion module is designed to be run in conjunction with LabVIEW Real-Time and LabVIEW FPGA which cannot run on USB DAQ devices, with the exception of DSP-based motion controllers such as the NI 7330, 7340, 7350 and 7390 series of PCI/PXI cards.

The maximum analogue output rate of the USB-6009 is 150S/s, which is very slow for motion/control tasks and also, you can only use USB DAQ under Windows, which results in non-deterministic timing and also limits your control algorithms to a resolution of 1ms.

You could perhaps make a control system using USB DAQ using PWM generation and the onboard counters, but I'm not sure how well it would perform as 150S/s wouldn't be enough for any reasonable PWM signal, for example, a 50Hz PWM signal combined with the 150S/s timing resolution would allow for only 4 discrete steps (0, 33, 66 and 100%).