Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I use Oriental Motor built-in drive controller with Labview?

I'm pretty new in Motion control and Labview. At this moment I have two step motors from Oriental Motors (alpha step AS series) and two built-in drive controllers (pag. 40 to 45) also from Oriental Motors and the corresponding cables to connect the drive to a computer via RS232. My institution has Labview license. My dougts are:

- Is it possible to control the both motors with Labview using the built-in drive controller from Oriental Motors directly connected to the PC?

- Do I need to purchase a PCI or UMI?

Any help would be great appreciated,

Sacha T. Mould 

Message 1 of 9
(7,334 Views)

Sacha,

with the built in controller all you have to do is to wire a serial cable to the serial port of your PC and the drive and use VISA functions to send ASCII commands to the device.

As LabVIEW is widely used to control devices through standardized communication interfaces like RS232 or GPIB, there is a chance, that the vendor provides a LabVIEW library (instrument driver) to simplify the control of the device from LabVIEW. To learn more about instrument drivers, please click here.

Kind regards,

Jochen Klier

National Instruments 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(7,332 Views)

Thank you very much for the reply.

Now I have another question similar to the earlier one. I need to purchase a step motor from Oriental Motor that comes with a rack and pinion head attached (LAS series). Oriental Motor sells this motor with a drive without built-in controller. The drive specifications are in pag. D-109. In this case, in order to control the motor with Labview,

- Which NI components I have to purchase?

- Can I use PCI 7334?

- Can I directly connect the PCI controller to the drive or UMI is necessary?

Thank you very much for your help and attention,

Sacha T. Mould 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(7,327 Views)

Sacha,