cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error Code -70012 and MAX freezes

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am relatively new to LabVIEW, and I have run into a rather frustrating problem...

I have a VI that drives a stepper motor.  It was working fine until I rebooted.   When I tried to run the VI again after rebooting, I was met with error code -70012 and the error message "motion: illegal board ID. You must use the board ID assigned to your controller in Measurement and Automation Explorer".

I thought that was rather odd, especially since it was working before the reboot. When I tried to access a test panel for the PXI-7342 through NI MAX, MAX froze and gave me an unsepcified error message.

In my VI, the board ID is specified as a strict type definition.  

My equipment:

PXI-7342 (Two Axis Servo/Stepper Controller)

MID-7602 (2 Axis integrated power unit)

PXI-8119 (Controller)

Also, I cannot seem to get the Driver Fault Output (red) and Driver Inhibit (yellow) lights on the MID-7602 to turn off.  The lights are on for all axis, even though I only have a stepper connected to axis 1.

I have tried re-installing the NI motion hardware.  

The PXI-8119 is a non-networked machine, so I doubt if there were any updates that originited from online that got incorporated without my knowledge.

Thank you for any help!  It will be much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,057 Views)

Hello,

Have you tried resetting the controller? The second post in the following thread explains how to do so in MAX:

http://forums.ni.com/t5/Motion-Control-and-Motor-Drives/how-to-clear-power-up-reset-state-in-PXI-734...

--------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(7,034 Views)

Hi Ollie,

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried that, but MAX freezes when I click on "NI Motion Devices", MAX freezes...

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(7,032 Views)