Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic LabVIEW example or tutorial for motor control beginner?

Hello,

I'd like to control two brushless servo motors using LabVIEW. I've got a PXI7358 controller card and a Copley amplifier. I've read the Getting Started tutorial but otherwise I am new to LabVIEW. I'm looking for a good basic VI and/or a tutorial about how to get started programming the motion of these motors with LabVIEW.

Thanks,

Matthew

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(14,060 Views)

Hello Matthew,

Have you had the chance to go through Getting Started NI SoftMotion Controller for Copely Controls CANopen Drives  page.5 to verify that you have all the components?

Andy Chang
National Instruments
LabVIEW Control Design and Simulation
Message 2 of 8
(14,049 Views)

Matthew,

Bad News: 

NI SoftMotion Controller for Copley Controls CANopen was discontinued a while ago, and, it is not compatible with the PXI-7358.  I hope the first reply didn't cause too much confusion for you.

Good News: 

Using the PXI-7358 with the Copley drive has nothing to do with NI SoftMotion Controller for Copley Controls CANopen.  To connect to PXI-7358 to your Copley drive you will need to...

1.  Interface the PXI-7358 to Copley's +/-10V analog input.

2.  Connect the motor's quadrature encoder to the PXI-7358.

3.  Connect the PXI-7358 "Inhibit Output" to the Copley drive's "Enable" input. 

Furthermore, you will need Copley's CME2 software installed and a serial cable connected to the Copley drive so that you can change the settings on the drive so that the drive knows it will be controlled by an external device.

I recommend that you start by reading...

Getting Started with NI-Motion for NI 73xx Motion Controllers 

and read the Copley drive manual for information on how to configure the drive to use its +/-10V analog to control the torque of the motor.

Good Luck,

Lorne Hengst

Motion Control Product Support Engineer