From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Measurement Studio for VC++

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IVI-C vs. IVI-COM Drivers

I have recently downloaded an IVI-C Instrument specific driver from NI's website. For my application, I need a COM layer to communicate with other software that I am developing. If the driver that I had found would have been an IVI-COM driver, all of my problems would have been solved. However, this not being the case, I need some direction. Would it be easier to take the IVI-C driver and create a wrapper on top of it that would be a COM layer? Or should I attempt to rewrite the driver as an IVI-COM driver. Keeping in mind that I have very little experience developing drivers, my first inclination is to use the driver as is, and create another layer. However, if someone has any more knowledge that they could add to this, please d
o so. There must be an easy way to accomplish this, and it must have been done before. Any help is greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,202 Views)
DPOrlando,

The IVI Foundation (http://www.ivifoundation.org/) has not standardized on an IVI-COM interface and most likely they won't ever do so. Instead they are planning to standardize on an IVI-.NET interface. So I would strongly suggest that you use the IVI-C driver and create a wrapper on top of it. Creating an IVI-COM driver will be a huge endeavor and that's one reason why the IVI Foundation decided to standardize on .NET and skip COM.

Just my 2 cents.

Azucena
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(3,202 Views)