Measurement Studio for VB6

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create a DVM with USB-6008

Hello,

I am looking to create a basic DVM with the NI USB-6008.  All I need todo is read a Digital voltage of ~1V continuously and display it in a text box in VB.  I have looked at the NI-DAQmx Digital input example code but does not show how to convert the input data into a visual text.  I have limited experience with VB and was wondering if anyone has a simple code that can do this.

Thank You
Aaron 
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(11,242 Views)

I think that what you need is analog input and not digital input.  Analog input is used to access the digitized signal coming back from the A/D converters on your DAQ device.  Digital input, on the other hand, is used to read from the digital I/O lines (ie. bits).

You essentially need to do 3 things:

1.  Call the appropriate DAQmx Create Channel function to set up the analog input.

2.  Call the appropriate DAQmx Read function to read back your floating point voltage.

3.  Set the value onto the text box (for example, Text1.Text = CStr( myReading )  )

You can then repeat steps 2 and 3 in a loop.

Hope that helps.  You might also be able to find some examples of how to do this either installed with the driver or online.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(11,233 Views)

hey I wander if someone could help me out and explain how a dvm actually works...right from the leads to the digital readout....that would be fantastic...

@JasonWhite wrote:

I think that what you need is analog input and not digital input.  Analog input is used to access the digitized signal coming back from the A/D converters on your DAQ device.  Digital input, on the other hand, is used to read from the digital I/O lines (ie. bits).

1.  Call the appropriate DAQmx Create Channel function to set up the analog input.

2.  Call the appropriate DAQmx Read function to read back your floating point voltage.