Measurement Studio for .NET Languages

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connect Example Project to Device

I am a beginner in the NI world, so please bear with me:

I have a PXI-5402 function generator running in a PXI-1031 chassis. I am able to use the Test Panels in MAX to verify the generator is working. I am running Visual Studio 2008, and have installed Measurement Studio 2013. I have also installed FGEN, with it's associated drivers. I went to the Measurement Studio tab in Visual Studio, and then to one of the Measurement Studio Examples: BasicSignalGeneration. I built this project, and ran it. It creates a "virtual" function generator, but triggers no actual output/control of the PXI-5402.

And now I'm stuck: what do I actually need to do to modify the BasicSignalGeneration example to actually trigger an output on my PXI-5402? Do I need to add a specific class to the example project? I know the location of the PXI-5402 from MAX, but am not sure how to modify the example to erefernce an actual generator module. 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,513 Views)

Hi jvavra,

The example you're using is a simulated function generation and is not intended to be used with hardware. The examples that ship with NI-FGEN can be found by navigating to Start»All Programs»National Instruments»NI-FGEN»Examples.  This has examples for C, the CVI , LabVIEW (multiple versions depending on your install settings), and Visual Basic. You can find more information on NI-FGEN examples in the NI-FGEN readme located at http://download.ni.com/support/softlib//Signal_Generators/NI-FGEN/NI-FGEN%2014.0/readme.htm#examples under the "Find Examples" section.

Regards,
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(4,424 Views)

AC,

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, my install of FGEN (pulled from the NI site last week) only seems to have C examples, and I can't seem to find the other examples on the NI site. Any ideas?

Thanks,

-Josh

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(4,421 Views)

AC,