Measurement Studio for .NET Languages

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Comprehensive Documentation for .NET Libraries?

Background: I'm very new to PXI and NI ecosystem, but have significant experience with .NET programmed and embedded development.  I'm trying to create an automated hardware / firmware test system for our embedded devices, that can be run automatically (with our nightly builds, for example).

I've been floundering around for the past few days trying to get a good understanding of the .NET libraries provided by NI.  The biggest problem I keep running into is I cannot find any sort of comprehensive documentation on the libraries.  For example, I would like to be able to find all of the instruments attached to a system.  In this case, my system with a PXI backplane with 5 instrument modules installed.

Visa looked like a good place to start.  I opened up the FindResources example, and immediately wanted to know what the syntax is for ResourceManager.Find(string).  I've been searching for days and haven't found anything that will me what the Find method expects in a string.

A significant number of classes and functions in the NationalInstruments namespace (.net dlls) expect a resource string to be passed in.  What is a resource string?  How is it formatted?  How can I get a list of resources attached to my system?  

For example, if I want to take readings from the DMM that's in the PXI chassis, what do I need to pass to the resourceName parameter?  How can I programmically get a list of resources?

Where's the documentation for the .NET Libraries?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,688 Views)

For finding out what NI modules you have in your chassis use NationalInstruments.ModularInstruments.ModularInstrumentsSystem (Assembly NationalInstruments.ModularInstruments.ModularInstrumentsSystem