Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

imaqdx nidaq

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a LV newbie, so your patience is appreciated 🙂

I posted in the labview boards but given that I am working extensively with imaqdx I figured I should post here too.

I am working with a Prosilica GE 680 gigabit camera linked to my computer via Intel PRO G/T 1000 and I am also working with an M-series NI-USB 6212 BNC. Connected to the ni-daq is a light source on each of AnalogOut0 and AnalogOut1 as well as 3 analog inputs: two of the three are reading from the analog outputs, the other input is a signal from the camera saying whether it is imaging or not. 

I have been debugging someone's code that is no longer around to help. The code essentially allows the user to synchronize two things: 1) The capturing and saving of a number of avi's of specified length, which in my hands is typically 2 sec movies at 200fps AND 2) Turning on and off two light sources at specified times during the movie. The problem is in the precise synchronization of the light sources with the camera exposure period.

As of now the light sources turn on and off during my movies, which is good. The problem is that the camera turns on late relative to the start signal as evidenced by the "imaging" output signal sent by the camera into one of the analog inputs. The result is that the lights appear to turn on early in the saved avi's since the movie starts later than specified. This is not ideal.

What changes do I need to make to the labview code to make sure that the camera is precisely synchronized with the analog outputs?

Thanks and let me know what info you need from me.

-Alex

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,688 Views)

If you have an imaging signal, use it as a trigger to start the analog signals.  Everything will be timed perfectly.

Bruce

Bruce Ammons
Ammons Engineering
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,676 Views)

Thanks for your reply Bruce,