Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

find the value of grayscale

Hello Guys.

I'm a newbie in here and also a newbie in labview stuff. I'm currently working on my final project and face a handicap in image processing. I need to get characteristic extraction as a variable in artificial neural networks. Does anyone knows how to get characteristic extraction from image grayscale image? To find its characteristic of energy, contrast, homogenity, entropy, level of grayscale, and standard deviation.

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,094 Views)

@kak_iguuun wrote:

Hello Guys.

I'm a newbie in here and also a newbie in labview stuff. I'm currently working on my final project and face a handicap in image processing. I need to get characteristic extraction as a variable in artificial neural networks. Does anyone knows how to get characteristic extraction from image grayscale image? To find its characteristic of energy, contrast, homogenity, entropy, level of grayscale, and standard deviation.

Thanks in advance

I am not sure about what you mean by energy. You can try imaq histogram function. that will give you gray scale value and standard deviation.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,070 Views)

Hello,

to my knowledge there is no Labview function that can perform what you want directly. You would have to code it yourself.

Whenever I am in doubt and need some extra info about algorithms regarding the image processing I tend to check Matlab documentation first (the also cite different papers). In my opinion no other SW environment comes close to the number of implemented algorithms in image processing (there are also a lot of users/programers that implement all kinds of algorithms). So:

http://www.mathworks.com/help/images/ref/graycoprops.html

http://www.mathworks.com/help/images/ref/entropy.html