cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fft cross correlation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone!!

I am a graduating student and  have to make a research project. I have to calculate the displacement field and strain distribution from undeform  to deformed speckle images from loaded sample..To calculate these parameters, I have to use cross correlation or preferably usinf FFT method. I have some problem regarding cross corellation using FFT method. I created a program with some help from furoms posted.

I extract 32x32 pixels from the undeform and deformed speckle images and pad it with there mean intensities. Also I removed DC component of the sub-images by subtracting intenties to there mean intensity  and try to calculate cross correlation using FFT method.

Refering to the book i've read, the location of the maximum peak gives the relative displacement between the two images. However, the result of my program, the location of the maximum peak will always at the coordinates (x=0,y=0) so this means that there was no relative displacement between the two images.

Why is this so?? Pls help me..

Attached is my program created and a subvi for padding and a sample of the images( loaded sample).

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,131 Views)

Hi laudz,

I looked through your code, and made a couple of changes, including a graph of the complex and real parts of your output on separate graphs. I'm not sure how the conversion to dynamic data handled the complex array. 

I've reattached your code and included the CrossCorrelation VI as well. This may do what you want to do, but you don't have control over how the cross correlation is calculated, beyond switching between direct and frequency domain (FFT). Check out the Labile help for the VI to see how it computes the cross correlation.

Hope this helps,

~Nate 

Message Edited by N_Holmes on 10-17-2008 09:52 AM
Message 2 of 8
(6,095 Views)
Message 3 of 8
(6,079 Views)