From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Producer/consumer - Video image gone before processing.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone, I am very new to using queue's in labview (2011), and my first one is giving me problems.

I'm using a producer/consumer loop to grab 2 images from 2 videos, say every 5 seconds, and then process it. The image processing part works great when I tested it seperatly, where the inputs were just file paths to the images. But then I connected it to the video acquisition part, and I got some problems.

The image would successfully go into the consumer loop at 5 seconds, but the very first thing was an IMAQ Morphology, and it never came out of the morph. All images after that were just blank, and all the numbers were NaN.

I made the problem simpler, much simpler, where the only thing in the consumer loop is a simple rotate the frame 90 and 180 degrees. This caused the same problem. An image comes into the consumer, but never continues after the first action (in this case, rotating). This tells me that something is wrong with my queues or producer/comsumer basic structure, and I can't figure out what it is. I've attached the simple rotate vi, along with a picture of it. Any help would be great, thank you.

-Mark

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,742 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author markconigliaro

Your problems come from the fact that IMAQ images are references to images in memory somewhere, rather than the actual images.   You aren't actually passing images through your Queues, just references.  So you're probably overwriting the image with a new image from the camera before your rotated image gets displayed.