Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to obtain coordinates of a certain point of a moving object captured via webcam and later using those coordinates to control stepper motors to follow the object

Hi all

I am new to Labview and I am using it to do image recognition. I got that working but now my problem is that I need to get the centroid of the image that it had recognized. I understand that the image mask input on the 'IMAQ Centroid' block provides a boundary search area to calculate the centroid. But I don't know how to connect it up. I need the centroid of the object that I had recognized.

Or if there is a easier/better way to achieve my goal please do comment.

Please if someone could attach an image on how to wire this block up it will be a major help for my mechatronics project or email it to me shiraubayd@gmail.com

Thank you in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(5,162 Views)

How are you locating your object?

If you are using pattern matching, the object coordinates are included with the results.

If you are using particle analysis, the centroid of each particle is included in the results.

You probably don't want to use IMAQ Centroid.  I believe it uses the grayscale values, which puts more weight on brighter pixels.  It is also influenced by the background if the pixels are non-zero.

Bruce

Bruce Ammons
Ammons Engineering
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(5,159 Views)

Hi Bruce

Thank you. I am using pattern matching, I analyzed my circuit and yes I am obtaining coordinates.

I am doing my image recognition in grey scale. I had problems when trying to make the search in colour.

Please if you could have a look at my circuit I attached, its not the final circuit, currently in the testing and improvement phase. If you could assist in giving me a colour search pattern match. It would really help.

Kind regards

U Shira

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(5,148 Views)