Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get 3D coordinates of reflective markers using two cameras?

Hi,

I am very new to LabVIEW (in fact to any coding at all) and helping my adviser to get the 3D coordinates of a few reflective markers using two cameras. I am able to read the marker coordinates (x, y) from two cameras simultaneously by processing the data in real-time using codes generated from vision assistant. However, we want to get the depth position by triangulating the markers. I have seen stereo vision doing something similar to this, but I think the stereo vision may not work with our calibration frame (markers) and we don’t need the whole depth image, but only the maker’s z coordinates. I also want to use Region of Interest to mask out other regions that are creating reflections. However, I am not sure if triangulation would work if we select region of interest (as the origin of the camera coordinates would change after selecting ROI). I saw this link http://kwon3d.com/theory/dlt/dlt.html#3d where they used DLT (direct linear transformation) method, but it is too much to code from the beginning. Is there a subVI in LabVIEW or some sort of prewritten code that can be customized? Can anyone please give me some advice on how to solve this problem?

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(7,210 Views)

Hello,

this is indeed stereo vision (two cameras from different viewpoints). So the steps you need to take are exactly the same as for a stereo setup:

1. calibrate your system (intrinsic and extrinsic calibration) - intrinsic calibration will correct for optical image center and lens distortion, the extrinsic calibration should give you the baseline distance

2. you need to rectify the images and find the pixel location of your markers on both images. When you rectify the images, you can determine the disparity of the same object from both images along the horizontal scanline.  Calculate the disparity (d = x2 - x1).