From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you convert a "text image" onto an intensity graph?

I wish to create a VI which loads a 2D array of data and then displays it on the screen using the Intensity Graph. I am new to labview (used less than 3 months) and I was wondering if anyone could help? Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,445 Views)

What is a "text image"? I am not familiar with that term.

What problems are you having? 

• How to "laod" a 2D array, whtever that means? (from file? from daq device?, from a camera? etc.)
  • How to display it on an intensity graph or 2D picture?

What is the datatype of the 2D array?

Why don't you attach your VI and a typical datafile so we get a better idea on what this is all about. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,435 Views)

Thankyou for your reply.

The text image is a black and white photo that has been converted to a text file using image j. (it basically finishes in .txt eg: image.txt)

I think my main problem is I dont know how to start with converting a 2d array, from a file, and displaying it onto an intensity graph.

I havent got a VI as of yet because I dont really know where to start but I can attach the "txt" files for you to see.

Many Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,432 Views)

You mean like this?

Read file...Spreadsheet string to array...flatten pixmap...draw flattened pixmap....

Message 4 of 9
(5,427 Views)

Note that an intensity graph has the origin in the lower left, so you would need to rotate the data in some way (start here :D). You also need to ensure that the intensity pixels are square to avoid distortions. A picture indicator is better for this (see previous post).

Message 5 of 9
(5,423 Views)